Company

People behind the scene working hard to put the map in Maptionnaire.

  Maarit Kahila   Co-founder & CEO maarit@maptionnaire.com +358 40 562 6951

Maarit Kahila

Co-founder & CEO
maarit@maptionnaire.com
+358 40 562 6951

  Anna Broberg   Co-founder & COO anna@maptionnaire.com +1 650 709 7286

Anna Broberg

Co-founder & COO
anna@maptionnaire.com
+1 650 709 7286

  Timo Rüppell   Chief Technology Officer timo@maptionnaire.com +358 50 543 7667

Timo Rüppell

Chief Technology Officer
timo@maptionnaire.com
+358 50 543 7667

  Timo Hämäläinen   Chief Communications Officer timoh@maptionnaire.com +358 40 510 0313

Timo Hämäläinen

Chief Communications Officer
timoh@maptionnaire.com
+358 40 510 0313

  Festa Isufi   Marketing & Sales Lead festa@maptionnaire.com +358 44 236 0022

Festa Isufi

Marketing & Sales Lead
festa@maptionnaire.com
+358 44 236 0022

  Kirsi Forss   GIS Specialist & Consultant  kirsi@maptionnaire.com +358 50 320 5337

Kirsi Forss

GIS Specialist & Consultant
kirsi@maptionnaire.com
+358 50 320 5337

  Sophie Kirschner   Software Developer sophie@maptionnaire.com +358 50 304 4299

Sophie Kirschner

Software Developer
sophie@maptionnaire.com
+358 50 304 4299

  Veera Helle   Representative DACH  veera@maptionnaire.com +41 786 484 642

Veera Helle

Representative DACH
veera@maptionnaire.com
+41 786 484 642

 

We have offices in Helsinki, Zurich, and San Francisco.

 

Our Story

Maptionnaire was born when a group of urban planning researchers and professionals based in Helsinki discovered an emerging problem: there was an increasing need for city planners to engage the public and to get real input from local residents. However, the methods in use at the time were not enough for taking people’s opinions into account in a large-scale and actionable form.

When cities began to contact us about our work with SoftGIS — the use of opinions and subjective data in GIS applications — it became apparent that there was a greater demand for our solutions than what could be offered through university projects. Our company, Mapita, was founded in 2011 to provide a platform for anyone to create their own map-based surveys. Since then, Anna and Maarit, leaders of the Maptionnaire team, have worked to finalize their doctoral studies and to further the Maptionnaire service and its team.

All of us at Mapita are passionate about helping people to engage with and influence the future of their surroundings. We strive to help city planners make better places for everyone to live in. After our eventful fledgling years, the Maptionnaire team has grown to a group of diverse and talented individuals from a range of backgrounds and nationalities. Our goal is to make Maptionnaire the best and most recognized digital public participation tool across the globe. We do so in close cooperation with our fabulous customer base, including innovative researchers and determined urban planners who wish to improve the practices of planning and public participation.

 

Our Partners

 

Kaleidoscope Norway

Ruimteschepper Netherlands

Gunneman Geo Netherlands